Illinois State Police Post Official FAQ For Upcoming Concealed Carry Laws

July 25 2013
by Dan Cannon
Share This Post
      

480px-Illinois-StateSeal.svgThe Illinois State Police have posted a frequently asked questions section on their website to help deal with questions about the upcoming implementation of the state’s newly passed concealed carry law.

The following is reprinted from the Illinois State Police website. It is not meant to be legal advice and will not be updated following the initial posting. Please visit the Illinois State Police website for the most up to date information.

On July 9, 2013, Public Act 98-63, the Firearm Concealed Carry Act, became state law (430 ILCS 66).

You may view the full text of the law at http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/98/PDF/098-0063.pdf

Q. How will Illinois State Police (ISP) officers and local law enforcement respond to citizens who are carrying weapons?
A. The ISP will continue to enforce the law in effect. Citizens cannot lawfully carry concealed weapons without a valid Illinois Concealed Carry License. Citizens who carry firearms without a Concealed Carry License issued by the ISP are subject to arrest. All Illinois residents seeking to obtain a Concealed Carry License must have a valid Firearm Owner’s Identification (FOID) card. Out-of-state residents are exempt from the FOID card requirement.

Q. Who needs an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
A. Everyone who wants to carry a concealed firearm on his/her person in Illinois is required to have an Illinois Concealed Carry License except current peace officers and retired police officers eligible under the Illinois Retired Officer Concealed Carry (IROCC) Program. Retired officers may be eligible to carry under either the IROCC Program or the Firearm Concealed Carry Act (430 ILCS 66).

Q. Are out-of-state Concealed Carry permit holders granted reciprocity in Illinois?
A. No. Out-of-state residents who want to carry a concealed firearm on his/her person must obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry License to lawfully carry a concealed firearm in Illinois. In order for out-of-state residents to be eligible for an Illinois license, their state’s concealed carry license laws must be substantially similar to those of Illinois. The Illinois State Police will establish rules to identify the elements necessary to meet the substantially similar requirement.

However, out of state residents are granted a limited exception to lawfully carry a concealed firearm within a vehicle if they are eligible to carry a firearm in public under the laws of his or her state or territory of residence and are not prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm under federal law. This rule becomes effective immediately.

If the non-resident leaves leaves his/her vehicle unattended, he or she shall store the firearm within a locked vehicle or locked container within the vehicle in accordance with subsection (b) of Section 65 of the Firearm Concealed Carry Act.

Q. What is the cost for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
A. $150 for 5 years for Illinois residents
$300 for 5 years for out-of-state residents

Q. How does a citizen apply for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
A. The ISP will make applications available to the public by January 5, 2014. The ISP intends to have applications available via the ISP webpage.

Q. How long will it take a citizen to obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
A. Upon receipt of a qualified application, the ISP shall issue or deny the applicant an Illinois Concealed Carry License within 90 days, provided the applicant submits a full set of fingerprints in electronic format. If fingerprints are not submitted in electronic format, the ISP is granted an additional 30 days to complete a manual background check. In all cases, law enforcement agencies will have 30 days to file an objection once an application is received.

Q. What are the qualifications for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
A. The applicant must:
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Have a valid FOID card (if an Illinois resident)
- Have not been convicted or found guilty in Illinois or any other state of:
— A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the last 5 years
— 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the last 5 years
- Not be the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification
- Not have been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the last 5 years
- Submit an appropriately completed Concealed Carry License application
- Successfully complete 16 hours of firearms training, including classroom and range instruction.

Q. Where can citizens obtain firearms training?
A. On September 7, 2013, the ISP will begin approval of certified firearms instructors and firearm training courses. A registry of approved instructors and courses will be available on the ISP webpage.

PLEASE NOTE: On-duty ISP officers will NOT provide training to citizens, nor will ISP ranges be used.

Q. What does the firearms training course consist of?
A. The required 16-hour firearms training course will include range qualification time and shall cover the following:
1. Firearm safety
2. The basic principles of marksmanship
3. Care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a concealable firearm
4. All applicable state and federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm
5. Instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.
All applicants must pass a live fire exercise with a concealable firearm consisting of:
1. A minimum of 30 rounds
2. 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards, 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards, and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the ISP.

Q. What are the qualifications to become a Concealed Carry Firearms Instructor?
A. A person seeking to become a certified Illinois Concealed Carry Firearms Instructor shall:
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Be a legal resident of the United States and qualified for a Concealed Carry License in Illinois
- Possess a high school diploma or GED certificate.
- Have at least one of the following valid firearms instructor certifications:
— Certification from a law enforcement agency
— Certification from a firearm instructor course offered by a state or federal governmental agency
— Certification from a firearm instructor course offered by the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board
— Certification from an entity approved by the Illinois State Police that offers firearm instructor education and training in the use and safety of firearms

Q. What type of a firearm will I be allowed to carry concealed?
A. “Concealed firearm” means a loaded or unloaded handgun carried on or about a person completely or mostly concealed from view of the public or on or about a person within a vehicle.

“Handgun” means any device which is designed to expel a projectile or projectiles by the action of an explosion, expansion of gas, or escape of gas that is designed to be held and fired by the use of a single hand.

“Handgun” does not include:
- A stun gun or taser;
- A machine gun as defined in item (i) of paragraph (7) of subsection (a) of Section 24-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012;
- A short-barreled rifle or shotgun as defined in item (ii) of paragraph (7) of subsection (a) of Section 24-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012
- Any pneumatic gun, spring gun, paint ball gun, or B-B gun which expels a single globular projectile not exceeding .18 inch in diameter, or which has a maximum muzzle velocity of less than 700 feet per second, or which expels breakable paint balls containing washable marking colors.

Q. Will persons be allowed to open carry?
A. No. “Concealed firearm” means a loaded or unloaded handgun carried on or about a person completely or mostly concealed from view of the public or on or about a person within a vehicle.

Q. How can I register as a Concealed Carry Firearms Instructor?
A. The ISP will establish administrative rules consistent with the Firearm Concealed Carry Act. Updates will be posted to the ISP webpage as information about the rule making process becomes available.

Q. Where can business owners or property owners obtain information about required signage?
A. The ISP will establish administrative rules consistent with the Firearm Concealed Carry Act. Updates will be posted to the ISP webpage as information about the rule making process becomes available.

Dan Cannon

Dan Cannon

Founder & Editor at GunsSaveLives.net
Dan has combined his background in technology with his passion for shooting and personal rights to create one of the most read Second Amendment news websites online. Dan holds a B.Sc. degree in Information Technology and Criminology. His articles are also syndicated in The Daily Caller's "Guns and Gear" Section.

Disqus Comments

comments powered by Disqus

Facebook Comments